Matti Kallio

“Matti Kallio is a superb instrumentalist who extracts a wide-range of expressions from the accordion, from dazzling
speed to delicate slow tempo performances.” – World Music Central

Matti Kallio is an award-winning Finnish multi-instrumentalist musician, composer, arranger and music producer. His main instruments are chromatic and diatonic accordions, piano and ethnic flutes.

He has worked on numerous albums, tv shows, film and live performances all over the world. The projects cover a wide variety of musical styles, from pop to traditional folk music, jazz to classical choral music, from gospel to children’s music.

Kallio’s awards include the Womex Artist Award as a member of Finnish folk music band Värttinä, and four Emma Awards, the Finnish equivalent of the Grammy Awards.

Kallio’s work credits include Värttinä, Hector, Vesa-Matti Loiri, Rajaton, Björk (with Voices of Europe), Atli Örvarsson, Nik Kershaw, Midge Ure, Tony Hadley, Jon Anderson, BBC Concert Orchestra, Icelandic Symphony Orchestra, UMO Jazz Orchestra, Miljoonasade, Yö, Club for Five, Anna Eriksson, Johanna Kurkela, Laura Voutilainen, Suvi Teräsniska, Icelandic National Theatre, Reykjavik City Theatre, Sinfonia Nord, Bubbi Morthens, Egill Olafsson, Finnish National Theatre, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Finnish National Ballet.



acc=accordion, pno=piano, kbd=keyboards, wh=tin whistle/flute, perc=percussion, guit=guitar, mand=mandolin/mandola, voc=vocals
arr=arrangement, comp=composition, lyr=lyrics, rec=recording, mix=mixing, prod=production

Matti Kallio: Waterfjord (acc, comp, arr, mix)
Matti Kallio: Murder Street (acc, pno, comp, arr, rec, mix, prod)
Matti Kallio: Waltz for Better Times (acc, comp, arr, mix, prod)
Värttinä: Viena (acc, wh, arr, mix, prod)
Värttinä: Utu (acc, kbd, wh, perc, comp, arr, rec, mix, prod)
Värttinä: Lasetus (single; acc, kbd, wh, comp, arr, rec, mix, prod)
Vesa-Matti Loiri: Pyhät tekstit (rec, mand)
Hector: Ei selityksiä (acc, wh)
Hector: Tähän vuodenaikaan (single; kbd, wh)
Hector: Hauras (kbd, wh)
Hector: Hectorin joululevy (acc, wh, banjo, perc, arr)
Rajaton: Boundless (arr.)
Rajaton: Out of Bounds (arr.)
Club for Five: Rekiretki (arr.)
Club for Five: Jouluna (wh)
Club for Five: Jouluna Live (arr.)
Club for Five: Songs of Kirka (arr.)
CMX: Discopolis (voc)
Miljoonasade: Karkumorsian (acc, wh, perc, voc, comp, lyr, arr, mix)
Miljoonasade: Ruusunnuppu (single – acc, wh)
Miljoonasade: Taivaan tähtitilkut (single – comp)
Johanna Kurkela: Kauriinsilmät (acc, wh)
Laura Voutilainen: Ihmeitä (acc, kbd, wh, arr, rec, mix, prod)
Matti Kallio & Roope Aarnio: Kjós (acc, kbd, comp, arr, rec, mix, prod)

View more